Spiritual growth.

This is a complex one because we all have our own beliefs when it comes to religion. I’m not here to enforce any beliefs onto anyone but simply just expressing how I’m personally growing spiritually.

I am a Roman Catholic and God is the center of my world, but let’s take it back a couple of years…. I knew God existed and kept telling myself that I believed in God without even fully understanding what that means. I never owned a bible or anything of that sort and it was quite ironic because my mom was a God fearing woman who goes to church a lot. I would go to church on those random Sundays and “listen” to the word and some days would find myself drifting away into my own thoughts and lose focus. 😦

Being in Varsity I was blessed to have stayed with some of the most amazing girls at the commune who were spiritually grounded. I remember being invited to one of my first cell groups there ( for those who don’t know it’s when individuals gather together and share their testimonies and the word of God), I had no idea at the time what it was all about. I kind of felt so out of place because everyone had their bibles and journals and they were sharing their testimonies and I had nothing to say or share. (/.\) I didn’t go back because I felt judged for being in the dark hahaha.

I think a year later I was invited to church on campus and I didn’t regret going honestly, it was so youthful, educational and fun altogether. One of the girls at cell group bought me a bible and I started reading it more and more each day and it became so much easier to interact at church and cell. I started attending more and more group meetings and bible study classes after church which helped me slowly in opening up, praying and talking to God more often.

It took me a while to achieve all this but I slowly started allowing God to come into my life. I prayed about things I wanted to achieve and accomplish in my life, believing and being patient and trusting God will pull through. Some of those prayers God has answered and I have seen Him do amazing things in my life through faith!!

What I’m really trying to get at is no matter how many times or how long someone forces you into accepting God in your life, at the end of the day it is your personal choice. Once you’ve made it you won’t regret it, allow yourself to take your own spiritual journey it won’t be easy but you will learn a lot about yourself too. 🙂

“For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.” – Ephesians 6:12 ❤

image

Leave a Reply

